La Bala

La Bala

To buy this album on CD please contact

In 2008 Mas Y Mas went to Havana, Cuba. 'La Bala' their third album is what they brought back to The UK. Working with Percussionist and Rumbero Santiago Garzon Rill aka 'Chaguito' Mas Y Mas grew from a trio to an 11 piece band. After a month of intense rehearsing and recording with some of the finest musicians in Havana the tracks were down and the job was done. 'La Bala' is a collection of songs by Rikki Thomas-Martínez that came to life in the studio of 'El Septeto Nacional De Ignacio Piñero' in Havana. Recorded by the band this album is a realisation of a vision, a testiment to tenacity, a record of collaboration and friendship and a victory over dust. 

Rikki Thomas- Martinez - Guitar, Vocals and Songs
Wayne D. Evans - Double Bass and Vocals
Richard Kensington - Percussion 
Santiago Garzon Rill aka 'Chaguito'- Arrangements and Percussion. Musical Director of Chaguito Y Sus Timberos
Melciades Fundora – Wooden Flute and founder member of Orquesta Sublime
Juan Carlos Tito Rojas– First Trumpet from Pachito Alonso y Sus Kini Kini
Arelys Catillo Bequer – Trombone from Coto y su eco del Caribe
Odalys Flores Armenteros – Vocalist from Ada Che
Adriana Lord Romero – Vocalist from Vocal Catarsis
Frank Garzon Rill – percussionist
Miguel Martinez Rosas – Trescero from Papa Oviedo y Sus Soneros

Thanks to Simon Jackson for all his help at the mixing stage of this album.


Full track listing:

Mira Mira
Better World
Las Calles De Altea
La Envidia
La Bala
El Vasito De Agua
No Sign
Too Many Suffer

'Mira Mira' from La Bala 

'La Bala' is featured on with permission from Luminoso Records.